[December 23, 2023]

CAMP AGUINALDO – The Office of Civil Defense (OCD) commends and acknowledges the dedicated efforts of all Local Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Councils and Offices for their unwavering humanitarian initiatives and their continued swift response during natural disasters and unforeseen crises.

The 2023 Gawad KALASAG has honored exceptional local disaster mitigation offices for their inspirational impact on the Filipino public and their embodiment of public service.

The following are the top five Local Disaster Risk Reduction Management Councils and Offices in their respective categories:


1. Province of Davao Oriental

2. Province of Benguet

3. Province of Occidental Mindoro; and Mountain Province

4. Province of Agusan del Norte

5. Province of Antique; Province of Dinagat Island


1. City of Zamboanga

2. City of Dipolog, Zamboanga del Norte

3. City of Calapan, Oriental Mindoro

4. City of San Pedro, Laguna

5. City of Makati, National Capital Region


1. Municipality of Gloria, Oriental Mindoro; Municipality of Kiamba, Sarangani

2. Municipality of Cagwait, Surigao del Sur

3. Municipality of Narra, Palawan; Municipality of Kapatagan, Lanao del Norte; Municipality of Mabinay, Negros Oriental

4. Municipality of Trento, Agusan del Sur

5. Municipality of Tubajon, Dinagat Islands; Municipality of Malungon, Sarangani; Municipality of Sultan sa Barongis, Maguindanao del Sur

Each Local DRRMCO received a Seal for Excellence plaque during the awarding ceremony held last Monday at the Manila Hotel.

The Province of Sorsogon also achieved a remarkable milestone in disaster risk reduction and humanitarian assistance by being recognized as one of the National Awardees for Gawad Kalasag 2023. This prestigious accolade is a testament to the unwavering commitment and exceptional efforts of the Local Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Councils and Offices (LDRRMCOS) in Sorsogon. Through their exemplary initiatives, innovative strategies, and tireless dedication, Sorsogon has demonstrated outstanding leadership in disaster preparedness, response, and recovery. The province’s proactive approach to risk reduction and its commitment to ensuring the safety and well-being of its communities have set a commendable standard for others to follow. This recognition not only celebrates the resilience of the people of Sorsogon but also underscores the vital role played by the local government in fostering a culture of disaster preparedness and humanitarian assistance.

In addition to their commendable humanitarian services, these Local DRRM Councils and Offices have demonstrated a strong commitment and determination to lead climate change adaptation programs. This reflects their support for the four thematic areas of disaster risk reduction and management in response to the impacts of climate change.

The Office of Civil Defense (OCD) hopes that the achievements of the awardees will serve as inspiration for more Local DRRM Councils and Offices in the years to come.

A total of 255 local government units were assessed as Beyond Compliant, while 725 were deemed Fully Compliant with the standards set forth in Republic Act No. 10121, which established the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council.

Article Credit to Office of the Civil Defense